Youth Asset Builder Awards presented

Local teens honored at 25th Annual Celebrate Youth Luncheon

By Sheri Trusty


TIFFIN – Some of the most exceptional youth in Seneca County were recognized and honored during the 25thAnnual Celebrate Youth Luncheon at Camden Falls Reception and Conference Center on Nov. 14. The event was hosted by the Tiffin Rotary Club and Seneca County Family & Children First Council.

During the event, the 2023 Youth Asset Builder Awards were presented to over 30 area youths who exemplify dedication and caring in the community. Award winners demonstrate the Search Institute’s 40 Developmental Assets that define healthy development traits which nurture caring, responsible youths. The 40 assets include achievement motivation, honesty and service to others.

Among the Youth Asset Builder Award winners was Lauren Gabel, who was nominated by Seneca County 4-H Youth Development Extension Educator, Katie Cole. Cole called Gabel a “true leader” and said she is dedicated to community service.

“She serves as President of Junior Leadership, Jr. Fair Queen, youth representative on Advisory Council, CARTEENS facilitator and is on the Food and Fashion Board,” Cole said. “She is a role model to many.”

Seneca County Commissioners Bill Frankart and Tyler Shuff attended the event and was impressed with the depth of character and achievement of all of the award winners, including Gabel.

“It was an excellent program highlighting the accomplishments, dedication and commitment to the community that the youth and teachers have made. Lauren exemplifies this with all of her involvement in 4-H and the county fair activities,” Frankart said.

In addition to Gabel, the Youth Asset Builder Award were: Emily Beamer, Bethany Boehler, Caraissa Boeser, Amy Cooper, Sean Dezse, Jeremiah Dickerson, Jake Feasel, Dylan Fox, Hannah Gill, Ava Jakubcin-Theis, Charles (Odin) Knight, Dax Livoti, Lyric McElrath, Lukas Mackowiak, Allie Orians, Paige Pitchford, Elijah Ramirez, Cenon Reichenbach, Margaret Ridge, Cory Ritter, Hudson Rom, Jacob Rombach, Reis Schalk, Norah Schmits, Grayson Schreiner, Emily Schrimshaw, Olivia Sharpe, Dylan Shutt, Gennavieve Simmons, Bradley Smith, Carol Taylor, Avery Tucker, Tom Vicek-Amory, Molly M. Ward, Jenna Weaver and Rose Wilhelm.

The awards were presented by Seneca County Juvenile Court Judge Jay Meyer and Lee Martin of the Rotary Club of Tiffin.

From left, Seneca County 4-H Youth Development Extension Educator, Katie Cole; Youth Asset Builder Award winner, Lauren Gabel; and Seneca County Commissioner Bill Frankart pose after the Celebrate Youth Luncheon at Camden Falls.
(Photo courtesy of Zach Stumpf)