Meeting Release

Post-meeting release

Seneca County Commissioners back to business at first commissioners’ meeting of the year

By Sheri Trusty, Seneca County Media Relations Coordinator

TIFFIN —During the Jan. 4 Seneca County Commissioners’ meeting, the commissioners passed a resolution setting Jan. 25 at 10 a.m. as the time and date designated to accept sealed bids to lease farmland situated in Eden Township. The land, which encompasses about 147 acres near the Seneca County Sheriff’s Office, will be available for a three-year lease.

For more information on leasing the farmland, contact Seneca County Administrator Barb Patterson at the Seneca County Commissioners’ Office at 419-447-4550.

The commissioners passed a resolution authorizing the board of commissioners to enter into a purchase agreement with Ogden Publications of Ohio, Inc. for the purchase of the property located at 320 Nelson St. in Tiffin. The property includes the current Advertiser-Tribune building which will eventually become the Seneca County Ag building.

“We’re pretty excited about that,” said Seneca County Commissioner Anthony Paradiso.

Patterson announced that bids for second EMS station planned for construction will be opened on Jan. 18 at 10 a.m. during the regular commissioners’ meeting. She said architectural drawing changes are being updated to improve the final project.

Patterson reported 2023 county budget totals. The final revenue total for 2023 was $23,354,965.19 and the expense total was $20,059,592.53.

In their commissioners’ reports, the commissioners talked about the many swearing-in ceremonies they attended in the last several days for elected officials, including Tiffin-Fostoria Municipal Court Judge Rhonda Best, Tiffin Mayor Lee Wilkinson and Fostoria Mayor Don Mennel. Commissioner Bill Frankart had the privilege of swearing in the new Mayor of Green Springs, Derek Knieriemen.

“We have a lot of new elected officials throughout the county and in the city. This could be good,” Paradiso said.

In other business, the commissioners voted Commissioner Paradiso as President and Commissioner Tyler Shuff as Vice President of the Board of Commissioners for 2024.