Seneca County EMS breaks ground on new station

By Sheri Trusty, Seneca County Media Relations Coordinator

Seneca County EMS took its next step into the future of countywide emergency service when local dignitaries and EMS staff broke ground on the second new station on May 4. The station, which will be located at the corner of CR 6 and TR 47 in New Riegel, will serve the southwest part of the county, including Eden, Seneca and Big Springs townships and the Village of New Riegel.

The New Riegel station, along with the new Bloomville station, are part of a progressive plan to have four fully-staffed EMS stations strategically located to serve all of rural Seneca County.

“This is a big milestone for Seneca County EMS as we expand our coverage area to serve Eden Township, which is new to the Seneca County system,” said Seneca County Commissioner Anthony Paradiso.

RCM Architects and Clouse Construction were contracted for the project, which is expected to be completed in October.

Shown are, from left, Seneca County Commissioner Tyler Shuff; Seneca County Commissioner Anthony Paradiso; Big Springs Township Trustee Gary Schalk; Seneca County Commissioner Bill Frankart; Eden Township Trustee Vern Morter; Dana Kuck of Seneca County EMS; Seneca County EMS District President, Scott Harrison; Chris East of Seneca County EMS; Seneca Township Trustee Mike Steyer; Clouse Construction Project Manager Adam Weins; New Riegel Village Councilmember Dale Nye; Lenny Clouse of Clouse Construction; Seneca County EMS Director Chris Hafley; Brian Clouse of Clouse Construction; and Emily Faeth of Seneca County EMS.